Marine Conservation Planner

Nanwakolas Council Society is a regional organization on central Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada that supports its six member First Nations: Mamalilikulla, Tlowitsis, Da’naxda’xw Awaetlala, Wei Wai Kum, We Wai Kai, and K’ómoks. These Nations each hold responsibility for the stewardship of Aweenak’ola, which means “the lands we are on,” within their traditional areas on North Vancouver Island and the mainland coast of what is now British Columbia. Through the Nanwakolas Council, the member Nations come together to make decisions on matters in which they share common interests. Using the powerful collective voice of Nanwakolas Council, they unite to uphold their Aboriginal rights and title. The Council engages with governments, industry, and partners of the member Nations to protect the rights of the Nations, and to ensure they are honoured and respected.


Nanwakolas Council

Opportunity Type


Key Dates

Open until Filled

Ready to dive in? There’s a place for everyone in the Ocean Decade—stay connected to help ensure a thriving, resilient, sustainable and productive Northeast Pacific Ocean. Sign up for our newsletter.